White House Nominates CFTC Chair

On Sep. 13, White House nominated Rostin Behnam for CFTC Chair.

  • White House nominated CFTC acting chair Rostin Behman for position of Chair of CFTC.
  • Additionally, the White House nominated the following individuals for CFTC commissioners: Kristin Johnson, Christy Goldsmith Romero, and Alvaro Bedoya.
  • Behman Qualifications Statement
  • Rostin Behnam joined CFTC in 2017 as a commissioner, and since Jan. 2021 has served as acting chairman; he has fostered public and private partnerships at CFTC.
  • Such public and private partnerships ensure derivatives markets operate transparently and fairly and innovate responsibly while addressing new and emergent risks.
  • Behnam prioritizes safeguarding customer protections, examining potential systemic market risk, and engaging in public dialogue on globally significant issues.
  • Including climate financial market risk, interest rate benchmark reform, diversity, equity, inclusion in financial markets, rise of retail participation in emerging markets.

Regulators CFTC; White House
Entity Types B/D; Bank; Exch; FCM; IA; IB
Reference PR, 9/13/2021
Functions Compliance; Exams
Countries United States of America
Products Commodities; Derivatives; Fund Mgt; Futures
Regions Am
Rule Type Guidance
Rule Date 9/13/2021
Effective Date 9/13/2021
Rule Id 115719
Linked to
Reg. Last Update 9/13/2021
Report Section US Investment

Last substantive update on 09/14/2021